Nawaz Sharif, Jehangir Tareen disqualified for life

ISLAMABAD: Nawaz Sharif, Jehangir Tareen have been disqualified for life.

A larger bench of Supreme Court announced the unanimous verdict regarding the period of disqualification under Article-62-1F of the Constitution on Friday.

A four-member larger bench headed by Chief Justice of Pakistan Justice Mian Saqib Nisar announced the ruling on several identical petitions to stipulate the timeframe for which a lawmaker would stand disqualified in the wake of violation under Article-62-1F of the constitution.

It is the same article under which former Prime Minister Mian Nawaz Sharif and PTI leader Jehangir Tareen were disqualified by the apex court.

Members of the bench that reserved the verdict are Justice Sheikh Azmat Saeed, Justice Umar Ata Bandial, Justice Ijazul Ahsan, Justice Faisal Arab and Justice Sajjad Ali Shah.

The apex court reserved the ruling on February 14.

Appearing before the apex court in the last hearing on February 14 this year, Attorney General Ashtar Ausaf Ali said the constitution needs to be amended to specify duration of disqualification of any member of the Parliament who was found to have been guilty.

He wondered if the disqualification of the lawmakers will continue even after the death, as no limit of time has been set in the law.

The court said that the 18th Amendment passed in 2010, does not spell out any time period for disqualification; hence, the duration for disqualification will continue for as long as the declaration holds.

Leave a Reply